FPS Community Blog

Welcome to FPS School News

FPS Well Represented at SW Region College Board Forum

Posted by Alan on January 17, 2012 10:08 AM | Filed in Events |

swro-632x248_11nov17.pngThe February 2012 Southwestern Region (AR, TX, OK, NM) College Board Forum will be held February 2-3 in Little Rock and will have considerable representation from the Fayetteville Public Schools. Around 400 attendees from the four states and The College Board's New York office are expected at the Peabody Hotel. 

Elected chair of the SW Regional Council is Barbara Prichard, FPS Director of the Gifted/Talented Program and Advanced Placement Exam Director.  Another Regional Council member is Maribeth Lynes, Associate Dean & Director of Honors College Recruitment at the University of Arkansas. 

A Forum highlight will be a reception honoring Governor Mike Beebe for his commitment to educational excellence and equity for all students. The Governor's recognition will be presented by Prichard. An additional highlight during that reception will be a performance by the FHS A Capella choir, directed by Dawnelle Fincher.

FHS AP teacher Rita Caver will also receive the AP Award for the Southwest Region for her outstanding work with the AP Program. 

The University of Arkansas is sponsoring extended hours at the Clinton Presidential Library for Forum attendees following the reception. AP Studio Art work from FHS students will be on display during the Forum. Student work was coordinated by AP Studio Art teacher Jeff Jackson. 

FHS principal Steve Jacoby and AP/Pre-AP teachers Rita Caver and Erin Johnson are selected presenters of among the fifty conference sessions. FPS Superintendent Vicki Thomas is an invited guest to a special dinner for school and legislative leaders attending the Forum.  

The SW Region Forum location rotates among the four member states; planning for the Arkansas-hosted Forum has been ongoing for the past year.