FPS Community Blog

Welcome to FPS School News

12 FHS Seniors Named 2012 Presidential Scholar Candidates

Posted by Alan on January 31, 2012 2:35 PM | Filed in News |


Twelve FHS seniors have qualified to be 2012 Presidential Scholar candidates. The seniors are Andrew Bakewell, Emile Blouin, Erin Boss, Brandon Fross, Katherine Gea, Hunter Latourette, Macy Manning, Ryan Pinter, Austin Ross, Emily Webb, Ian Wicks, and Rachel Zweig. Click here to see a group photo.

FHS had the largest number of Presidential Scholar candidates, with 12 of the 62 Arkansas seniors chosen.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. Each year, up to 141 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.