FPS Community Blog

Welcome to FPS School News

FPS Team Wins Awards at Arkansas Electric Vehicle Challenge

Posted by Alan on May 8, 2012 3:09 PM | (Not Filed) |

electric-car.pngA combined Ramay Jr. High/Fayetteville High School team of students competed for the first time, in the Arkansas Electric Vehicle Challenge held on May 4 in Little Rock. The FPS team's vehicle won 1st place in Endurance and captured 2nd place in Acceleration, besting dozens of other districts. This means the FPS vehicle was the fastest without a speed governor and could go the farthest without a battery recharge. 

This group of students met after school under the guidance of FPS pre-engineering teachers to use math, science and engineering skills in the vehicle design. Thanks to Ozark Electric for providing the base vehicle.

Team members included Thomas Alvey, Karla Banks, Taylor Blankenship, David Crosby, Mariano Garcia, Harrison Farwell, Mitch Dillard, Patrick Graff, Derrick Richards, Cassidy Anderson, Justin Kelly, Brian Luttrell, Justin Matthews, Daniel Morrell, and Alexander Mueller.

Click here to see more photos from the event.