FPS Community Blog

Welcome to FPS School News

Seven FHS Seniors Named Presidential Scholar Candidates

Posted by Alan on January 31, 2013 1:42 PM | (Not Filed) |


Seven FHS seniors have qualified to be 2013 Presidential Scholar candidates. The seniors are Peter Du, Sarah Huang, Morgan Keaton, Tony Li, Jonathan Main, Rebecca McCann, and Megan Prettyman. 

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. Each year, up to 141 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.