FPS Community Blog

June 2014 Archives

Online Re-enrollment to Open on July 15

Posted by Alan on June 30, 2014 4:27 PM | (Not Filed) |

online.pngOnline re-enrollment for the 2014-15 school year will open on Tuesday, July 15.  We have removed the links to the online enrollment system at the current time to update some of the forms.  The links will be re-instated and enrollment will begin Tuesday, July 15. The Primary Guardian listed in the student's record will be the contact point for Fayetteville Public Schools.  Watch this school news blog for more information.

FPS Wins 6 National School PR Association Awards

Posted by Alan on June 23, 2014 3:20 PM | (Not Filed) |

nspra_logo_0.pngThe National School Public Relations Association has presented six awards to the Fayetteville Public Schools as part of NSPRA's 2014 Awards program. FPS was given awards for the following:

Woodland Quiz Bowl Team Wins National Tournament

Posted by Alan on June 9, 2014 4:02 PM | (Not Filed) |

The Woodland Jr. High School Quiz Bowl team has won first place in the Jr. Nationals Academic Championship in Chicago, IL!! The team competed against 25 of the best teams in the nation and won the tournament!

Team members include tournament MVP Ryan Kim, Jacob Huneycutt, Jacob Partridge, Ibby Ogden, Aubin Payne, Steven Du, Kyle Mayer, David Vega, and Sophie Harris. The team is coached by Lindsey Asbury and Richard Campbell. Click here to see a team photo.

Special thanks to Woodland Jr. High, parents, and gofundme donors for your support!

Eight FPS Schools Receive Monetary Awards from State

Posted by Alan on June 4, 2014 1:13 PM | (Not Filed) |

reward check.png

State senator Uvalde Lindsey, state representatives Charlie Collins and David Whitaker, and Steve Clark of the Fayetteville Chamber of Commerce presented ceremonial checks on Monday to each of FPS schools that received monetary awards through the Arkansas School Recognition Program. The Arkansas School Recognition Program was created to provide financial rewards to public schools that experience high student performance, student academic growth, and high graduation rate in secondary schools. Our district received over $377,000 in recognition funds, and the schools receiving them are Butterfield Trail, Holcomb, Holt, McNair, Leverett, Root, Vandergriff, and Woodland. Congrats!

Complete List