FPS Community Blog

Welcome to FPS School News

Warner Named Arkansas Volleyball Player of the Year

Posted by Alan on December 12, 2014 8:56 AM | (Not Filed) |

WarnerVB.jpgThe Gatorade Company, in collaboration with USA TODAY High School Sports, today announced Haley Warner of Fayetteville High School as its 2014-15 Gatorade Arkansas Volleyball Player of the Year. Warner is the second Gatorade Arkansas Volleyball Player of the Year to be chosen from Fayetteville High School. Aubrey Edie was honored with the award in 2012.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Warner as Arkansas's best high school volleyball player.

The 6-foot-2 freshman right side hitter recorded 507 kills, 172 digs, 129 blocks and 12 service aces while posting a kill percentage of .452 and leading the Bulldogs (23-12-2) to the Class 7A state final this past season. A 2014 First Team All-State selection, Warner slammed a match-high 21 kills in the state final against Bentonville.

"Haley Warner's play demonstrates an exceptional combination of talent and hard work," said Fayetteville head coach Jessica Phelan. "She burst onto the volleyball scene during her freshman campaign and is one of the premier right side attackers in the nation."

Warner will begin her sophomore year of high school next fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each
sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade high school sports leadership team in partnership with USA TODAY High School Sports, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.