FPS Community Blog

September 2015 Archives

Vandergriff Named 2015 National Blue Ribbon School

Posted by Alan on September 29, 2015 1:54 PM | (Not Filed) |

2000px-National_Blue_Ribbon_Schools_seal.svg copy.pngU.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan announced the 2015 Blue Ribbons Schools today, and Vandergriff Elementary School is one of the 335 schools in the nation to be honored. Only four Arkansas schools were named Blue Ribbon Schools for 2015.

This is the second Blue Ribbon Award for Vandergriff. The school was also recognized as a Blue Ribbon School in 2009.

"I am so proud of our students, staff, and parents at Vandergriff," said principal Andrea Sego. "The standards for this award are very high, and it took dedicated work by everyone involved to reach those standards. For decades our community has strongly valued and supported public education, and their commitment made this possible."

"This honor recognizes your students' accomplishments and the hard work and dedication that went into their success," Duncan said in a video message to the awardees. "Your journey has taught you collaboration, intentional instruction, and strong relationships in school and with your community. You represent excellence--in vision, in implementation, and in results--and we want to learn as much as we can from you."

The Department of Education will honor 285 public and 50 private schools at a recognition ceremony on November 9-10 in Washington, D.C. In its 33-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed this coveted award on more than 8,000 of America's schools.

A celebration will be held in November at Vandergriff Elementary School following the formal presentation in Washington.

Annual Report to Our Patrons Set for October 22

Posted by Alan on September 29, 2015 9:35 AM | (Not Filed) |

ptomeeting.pngThe Fayetteville School District will hold its annual meeting and present the Report to Our Patrons on the 2014-15 school year on Thursday, October 22 at 5 p.m. in the Adams Center.

The October meeting of the Fayetteville Board of Education will follow immediately after the annual meeting at approximately 5:30 pm.

Seating is limited in the Adams Center, but the meeting will be streamed from the district website.

School Board to Name Replacement for Halsell

Posted by Alan on September 25, 2015 11:25 AM | (Not Filed) |

Jim Halsell2013-2.pngFayetteville Board of Education vice president Jim Halsell tendered his resignation from the Board effective September 28, 2015. Halsell and his family are moving to State College, PA.

Board members thanked Halsell for his years of service and wished him and his family well. Halsell has served as the At Large Position 1 representative on the Board since 2008.

The Board will appoint a replacement for Halsell to fulfill the remainder of his term, which expires in September of 2016. Any person interested in being considered should send a resume and letter to Tim Hudson, Fayetteville Public Schools, 1000 W. Bulldog Blvd., Fayetteville, AR 72701. The resume and letter must be received by October 9 and should include:
  • why the applicant is interested in serving,
  • how the applicant feels qualified, and
  • what the applicant believes are the three most important issues facing the Board in the next few years.

Maranto Wins School Board Election

Posted by Alan on September 16, 2015 2:26 PM | (Not Filed) |

Maranto.jpgDr. Robert Maranto won the election for the Zone 2 seat on the Fayetteville Board of Education in the annual school election on September 15, 2015. Maranto received 63% of the vote over fellow candidates Phil Jones and Jeanne Champagne. He will succeed Bryn Bagwell, who did not run for re-election, and serve a five year term.

Welcome, Dr. Maranto, and thank you, Mrs. Bagwell, for your service to our schools!

Nine FHS Seniors Named National Merit Semifinalists

Posted by Alan on September 11, 2015 2:55 PM | (Not Filed) |

Nat Merit small.png

Congratulations to our 2015-16 National Merit semifinalists: Kaitlin Ahrens, Bill Bacon, Tyler Bishop, Jordan Davis, Cannon Kern, Trey Langston, Aidan McGinn, Abby Pickhardt, and Anthony Pirani!

Click here to see a larger picture.

Robbie Cornelius New Director of Adult and Community Education

Posted by Alan on September 1, 2015 3:07 PM | (Not Filed) |

Robbie_Cornelius-1.pngWe are pleased to welcome Robbie Cornelius as the new Director of Adult & Community Education. He was previously vice president of instruction at Northwest Technical Institute, where he had worked since 2008. While at Northwest Technical Institute he also served as student service coordinator, financial aid director, and scholarship director.

Cornelius taught 6th and 7th grade social studies at J.O. Kelly Middle School in Springdale from 2003 to 2008 He holds a bachelor's degree in music and a master's degree in teaching in secondary education, both from the University of Arkansas.

"I am excited about the opportunities that await me in Fayetteville," said Cornelius, "and I'm looking forward to a great year here at Fayetteville Adult & Community Education."

Complete List