FPS Community Blog

October 2015 Archives

Waitsman Selected to Fill Vacant School Board Position

Posted by Alan on October 27, 2015 1:33 PM | (Not Filed) |

Waitsman.pngThe Fayetteville Board of Education voted on October 26 to select Nika Waitsman to fill the remainder of the term for the At-Large Position 1 seat on the school board, which expires in 2016. She will replace Jim Halsell, who recently moved to Pennsylvania.

Welcome, Nika!

FHS Film and TV Fare Well at Spring Creek Arts Festival

Posted by Alan on October 16, 2015 9:46 AM | (Not Filed) |

filmmaker.pngThe FHS TV and Film programs represented FHS well at the 2015 Spring Creek Festival. Students attended training seminars, screenings of peer's works, and the college and career fair. FHS students also competed against 1,400 other Broadcast, Photography and Film students from around the state and beyond. Our programs won the top two prizes: Program of the Year and Advisor of the Year. (Click here to see a staff photo from the festival.)

The FHS TV program won the following awards:
  • 1st Place, Show Opening: FHSTV Staff for "Bulldog Weekly"
  • 1st Place, Onsite News Story: Canon Poore, Abbi Smith, Cecillia Valenzuela, Kadie Meroney
  • 1st Place, Carry-in Music Video: Abbi Smith & Kadie Meroney for "Firebreather"
  • 2nd Place, Sports Story: Olivia King and Mattie Boyett for "Student Section"
  • 2nd Place, Human Interest: Abbi Smith & Caroline Been for "Falon"
  • 3rd Place, Festival Recap: Betty Pendleton, Makayla Mardanbigi, & Chase Wright for "2015 Spring Creek Festival"
  • Advisor of the Year: Bryan Allen

The FHS Film Program won the following awards:
  • 2015 Video Program of the Year
  • Filmmaker of the Year: Cole Borgstadt, 2015 FHS Alum
  • 2nd Place, Onsite Short Film: Kelton McCarthy, Andrew Trice, Tyler Kelly, Kaid Hurd for "Shoes Inc."
  • 1st Place, Animation: Andrew Trice for "Baking"
  • 2nd Place, Animation: Alan Vinson for "Star Wars"
  • 3rd Place, Animation: Darcy Olmstead for "Fraises"
  • 3rd Place, PSA/Commercial: Cole Borgstadt, Joseph Porter, Evan Smith, and Reed C. Carson for "Cyber Bullying"
  • 3rd Place, Music Video: Caroline Wetsell for "Hanging Tree"
  • 2nd Place, Landscape Photography: Makayla Mardanbigi for "The City"

Four FPS Schools Named Top Performers in Arkansas on Science Exams

Posted by Alan on October 14, 2015 5:03 PM | (Not Filed) |

bestscience.pngThe 2015 Best Test Scores in Science report from the Office of Education Policy at the University of Arkansas College of Education and Health Professions highlights the highest-achieving schools on science exams in Arkansas, and several FPS schools were named:

  • Ramay Jr. High: End of Course Biology Exam (#1 in the state)
  • Vandergriff Elementary: 5th grade Science Benchmark Science Exam (#2 in the state, #1 in NW Arkansas)
  • McNair Middle School: 7th Grade Benchmark Science Exam (#8 in the state, #5 in NW Arkansas)
  • Fayetteville High School: End of Course Biology Exam (#10 in the state)

Congrats to these high performing schools!

Flu Clinics for Students and Staff Members

Posted by Alan on October 9, 2015 10:04 AM | (Not Filed) |

Flu Shot sign.pngFlu clinics will be held for students and staff at the following schools:

  • October 13: Butterfield Trail, Happy Hollow, Ramay
  • October 14: Owl Creek, Holt
  • October 15: Holcomb, Asbell
  • October 16: Leverett, Root, Woodland
  • October 19: FHS, ALLPS, Washington
  • October 20: McNair, Vandergriff
PLEASE NOTE: The Arkansas Department of Health is providing ample supplies of vaccine for the shots, but there is a high probability that no flu mist will available for school clinics. If you have submitted a consent form for your child to receive the flu mist, and you DO NOT want them to receive a shot instead, please contact your school nurse as soon as possible.


Complete List