FPS Community Blog

February 2016 Archives

Woodland MathCounts Win Chapter Level Competition

Posted by Alan on February 16, 2016 10:55 AM | Filed in News |

The Woodland MathCounts Team won 1st Place at the Chapter Level Competition on Saturday!

Congratulations to Kaushik Sampath, Amanda Thomsen, Stephen Pierson, and Abby Chang!

Kaushik also won first place for his individual score, and Amanda won 8th place, earning them a position in the Countdown Round! Woodland was very well represented.

Congratulations also to our students who competed as individuals: Namrata Anand, Faith Capwell, and Ethan Stewart.

Special thanks to FHS junior Albert Xu who has been working with the team on weekends (Albert was a McNair Middle School and Woodland Jr. High National MathCounts contestant).

Team coaches are Nat Thomas and Sandy Weishaar.

Fayetteville Public Schools's photo.
Fayetteville Public Schools's photo.

FHS Teacher to be Honored by College Board

Posted by Alan on February 12, 2016 10:14 AM | Filed in News |

Marc Reif.png
Congrats to FHS physics teacher Marc Reif for being selected to receive the 2016 Southwestern Region AP Award from the College Board! He will be honored at College Board's Regional Forum in Dallas on February 26. Marc teaches AP Physics I and AP Physics II at FHS.

FHS Women's Bowling Team wins Championship

Posted by Alan on February 11, 2016 12:29 PM | Filed in News |

Congratulations to FHS Women's Bowling Team for winning the 2016 7A West Conference Championship!

Fayetteville High School's photo.

Nineteen FHS Students Named to All State Band

Posted by Alan on February 11, 2016 11:56 AM | Filed in News |

All State Band.pngCongrats to the 19 FHS students who were selected to the 2016 Arkansas All State Band:

Nico Bridges - 1st Band, 1st Chair, Bass Clarinet
Noshin Nawar - 1st Band, 1st Chair, Percussion
Colton Townsend - 1st Band, 2nd Chair, Percussion 
Joseph Pardue - 1st Band, 2nd Chair, Tenor Sax
Jonathan Catron - 1st Band, 3rd Chair, Trombone
Kaniel Widder - 1st Band, 5th Chair, Bassoon
Kaleb Wilson - 1st Band, 5th Chair, French Horn
Emily Jackson - 1st Band, 7th Chair, Percussion
Will Hadley - 1st Band, 8th Chair, Percussion
Lucas Bellaiche - 2nd Band, 1st Chair, Tenor Sax and 2nd Band, 1st Chair, Jazz Ensemble
Josh Caperton - 2nd Band, 1st Chair, Trombone
Davis Campbell - 2nd Band, 1st Chair, Percussion
Claire Stites - 2nd Band, 2nd Chair, Percussion
Kyle Jiang - 2nd Band, 9th Chair Clarinet and 2nd Band, 1st Chair, Piano, Jazz Ensemble
Kennedy Spencer - 3rd Band, 2nd Chair, Euphonium
Drew Watson - 3rd Band, 4th Chair, Trombone
Walter Ferguson - 3rd Band, 1st Chair, Percussion and 2nd Band, 1st Chair, Drums, Jazz Ensemble
Mason Crawford - 2nd Alternate, Trombone

Twenty-One FHS Students Named to 2016 All State Choir

Posted by Alan on February 10, 2016 1:10 PM | (Not Filed) |

All State Choir.pngTwenty-one FHS students were named to the 2016 Arkansas All State Choir. They include:

  • 3rd Chair, 1st Soprano - Emily Jackson
  • 29th Chair, 1st Soprano - Lauren Teaster
  • 3rd Alt, 1st Soprano - Lucy Rossi
  • 4th Chair, 2nd Soprano - Hannah Villines
  • 41st Chair, 2nd Soprano - Abbi Smith
  • 1st Chair, 1st Alto - Ruby Erickson
  • 11th Chair, 1st Alto - Julia Townsley
  • 17th Chair, 1st Alto - Caroline Wetsell
  • 7th Chair, 2nd Alto - Mary McDonald
  • 14th Chair, 2nd Alto - Annabelle Linker
  • 7th Chair, 1st Tenor - Landon Calhoun
  • 10th Chair, 1st Tenor - Austin Wagstaff
  • 44th Chair, 1st Tenor - Eric Blevins
  • 32nd Chair, 2nd Tenor - Alex Fincher
  • 50th Chair, 2nd Tenor - Henry Aggus
  • 2nd Chair, 1st Bass - Lance Nix
  • 10th Chair, 1st Bass - Rylan McAlister
  • 50th Chair, 1st Bass - Jonathan Catron
  • 13th Chair, 2nd Bass - Wilson Spainhour
  • 26th Chair, 2nd Bass - Blake Young
  • 37th Chair, 2nd Bass - John Gibson

FHS Track Teams Win Both Indoor State Championships

Posted by Alan on February 8, 2016 8:40 AM | (Not Filed) |

Crowned Bulldog.pngCongratulations to the FHS boys and girls track teams for winning the 2016 7A state indoor track and field championships on Saturday, February 6 at the University of Arkansas's Randal Tyson Track Center! Click here to see a photo of the champions.

Meet Our New Superintendent on February 4-5

Posted by Alan on February 1, 2016 10:00 AM | (Not Filed) |

Matt Wendt.pngDr. Matt Wendt and his wife, Dawn, will visit Fayetteville on February 4-5, and there will be two opportunities for parents and patrons to meet and visit with them. Here is the schedule:

Thursday, February 4
  • 1:30  to 3 p.m., Fayetteville Public Library (community)
  • 4:30 to 6 p.m., Happy Hollow Elementary School (community)

Please stop by and help welcome Dr. and Mrs. Wendt to Fayetteville!

Dr. Matt Wendt Named New FPS Superintendent

Posted by Alan on February 1, 2016 8:44 AM | (Not Filed) |

Matt Wendt.pngThe Fayetteville Board of Education has named Dr. Matt Wendt as the new superintendent of the Fayetteville Public Schools effective July 1, 2016. Current superintendent Dr. Paul Hewitt is retiring on June 30, 2016. 

Dr. Wendt is currently the superintendent of the Community Unit School District 308 in Oswego, IL, a district of more than 18,000 students. He received his Doctor of Education degree from the University of Arkansas and has served as a teacher, instructor, coach, sponsor, principal, assistant superintendent, and superintendent during his education career in school districts in Kansas, Iowa, and Illinois.

The board started with an applicant pool of more than 30 interested school administrators and narrowed the list to six candidates to interview, ultimately interviewing five after one withdrew before the interview was conducted. The initial list included superintendents from around the country, including at least two who had been named superintendent of the year in their respective states. 

Board president Tim Hudson stated, "We are fortunate to have had such a strong applicant pool, and I appreciate the work this board did in researching and interviewing candidates. I am especially grateful to our current superintendent, Dr. Paul Hewitt, for his invaluable advice and for helping recruit or recommend a number of the top applicants. The board is confident that in Dr. Wendt we have found a leader who will embrace the district's strategic plan that is being developed and build on our strengths to take Fayetteville Public Schools to national prominence."

Complete List